Florida car accident lawyer, Guy S. DiMartino, explains how to get wage loss benefits after a Florida car accident.
People injured in a Florida car accident are entitled to wage loss benefits under their personal injury protection insurance. Generally, if you are injured in a car accident and lost work because of the injuries, you will be able to be compensated for your lost wages at the time your case settles. The problem is that many people are not able to wait up to 18 months to settle their case to be reimbursed. Well Florida car accident law offers a way for injured people to receive some money for their lost wages as the wage loss occurs.
Florida car accident law requires all motor vehicle (car, truck, van, not motorcycle) owners to purchase a minimum of $10,000 no-fault or personal injury protection (PIP) insurance.
If a person is injured in a car or truck accident, they can receive up to 60% of their lost wages. The process for claiming lost wages can become complex because medical expenses take priority that is why it is important to consult a Lake County car accident attorney immediately after a car accident. In order to set-aside some of your PIP benefits for wage loss, the insurance company will need to put on notice of a potential wage loss claim and a specific request to set aside money needs to be made.
Your lawyer will help you plan a strategy so your PIP benefits are used wisely. For instance, if the injured person has health insurance but s/he does not have disability insurance, the best advice may be to set aside as much PIP as allowed (you may not be able to set aside the whole amount if you went to the emergency room after the accident) for lost wages and tell the doctors to bill your health insurance.
Florida car accident law is complex. Issues involving medical care and lost wages can be tricky. If you have any questions regarding your Florida car accident case, give me a call at (352) 267-9168 or fill out the contact box on the right side of the screen for an internet consultation.